some queries

At DRS 2006 we also offer high quality streaming at the lowest prices. We also guide you through step by step while setting up your own internet radio station. After debuting your broadcast on the World Wide Web, join us here to talk about streaming.

some queries

Postby frank1 » Sun Feb 25, 2007 8:51 pm

i am new to broadcasting and thinking of taking the terrestial fm online by using drs2006...may be as a pay package..
first question..
1)do i must use any of the media server like live365,shoutcast or icecast...
are they free.....
or all are pay one

means can't i use my one computer which has about 128kbps internet as a server to feed live audio from fm...using may be 20kbps bitrate
just to get started..and get used to system and when things go well then go to pro servers

what is minimum internet requirement...just for minimum users now

2)if i use any of the server does it mean i have to pay treble..one to media server another to webserver and third to get hig internet connection to feed data

and suppose our country doesnt have better internet than 128kbps does that mean i will not be able to use live broadcast..

3)as we want to make pay package..are there any such system opensource or pay separate system or inbuild with any media server that handles authentication and payment system for our users.
..php system preffered if seperate

any way sorry for simple questions..but i really think it will be very helpful for me and other new starter like me..
by the way i have read documentation already
thanks
frank1
New Broadcaster
New Broadcaster

Postby frank1 » Sun Feb 25, 2007 9:03 pm

any way i posted this topic and was reading other post and found this on one post
To stream Mp3 / mp3PRO directly from your PC...you can do so, download ShoutCast from the website so you'll actually be streaming from your PC to your PC and from there people can connect from your PC directly. A port must also be set so you'll stream to your own PC and to the port set.